Torah and Veda are two ancient sources of spirituality still vibrant today. Torah is conveyed through the sacred language of Hebrew and Veda is conveyed through the sacred language of Sanskrit. The focus here is on meditation, mysticism, philosophy, psychology and the underlying spirituality that has been incorporated into religions, and not as much on the religions themselves. Your comments and posts are welcome.

An Interspiritual Journey
Find Your Inspiration and Follow It

Quote of the Week 378 - Core Teaching of Buddhism

The core teaching of Buddhism is to help people become less self-centered and learn how to give love to others.

--Lama Surya Dass, as quoted in Spirituality and Health magazine, September/October 2017 issue


I will be making a presentation at the Atlanta Southeast Limmud this Labor Day weekend, with the following title:

Job’s Second Daughters and the Kabbalah of the Unicorn.

There has been much existential hand-wringing discussion over the centuries about the Book of Job. However, there has been little focus on the significance of the concluding verses and his second set of daughters. Come explore these interesting passages and the mystical significance of how one daughter’s name relates to a single-horned creature, sometimes associated with a unicorn.

Interfaith/Inter-Spiritual Contemplative Groups

Please check out the following, which is an ongoing activity that may be of interest:




Sunday, January 25, 2009

Further Correlations: Yoga and Judaism Levels, Layers, Concepts

1. Ashtanga Yoga Limbs: 1, Yama, 2 Niyama, 3 Asana – Relating to the physical material world
Yoga Kosha (Sheath, Veil, Layer): Annamayakosha – Food/Material/Physical
Yoga Practice: Karma, Asana
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Nefesh
Kabbalistic World: Assiyah
Jewish Practice: Mitzvot

2. Ashtanga Yoga Limb: 4, Prana
Yoga Kosha: Pranamayakosha
Yoga Practice: Pranayama
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Ruach
Kabbalistic World: Yetzirah
Jewish Practice: Breath Awareness

3. Ashtanga Yoga Limb: 5, Pratyahara
Yoga Kosha: Manomayakosha
Yoga Practice: Pratyahara, Sense Withdrawal
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Ruach ha-kodesh
Kabbalistic World: Briyah
Jewish Practice: Hitbodedut

4. Ashtanga Yoga Limb: 6, Dharana
Yoga Kosha: Vijnanamayakosha
Yoga Practice: Dharana, Concentration
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Neshamah
Kabbalistic World: Atziluth below the triad of Keter, Chokmah, Binah
Jewish Practice: Kavannah

5. Ashtanga Yoga Limb: 7, Dhyana
Yoga Kosha: Anandamayakosha
Yoga Practice: Dhyana, Meditation
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Chaya
Kabbalistic World: Triad of Keter, Chokmah and Binah of Atziluth
Jewish Practice: Hitbonenut

6. Ashtanga Yoga Limb: 8, Samadhi
Yoga Kosha: The Pure Inner Spirit beyond the koshas; the realm of Sat Chit Ananda; in a lower level of samadhi, some sense of a separate self remains, but in a higher level, there is complete absorption/union of the separate self with the One
Yoga Practice: The culmination of the preceding practices
Jewish Layer of the Soul: Beyond layers, Devekut (clinging, cleaving) is the level where some sense of separate self remains, Avodah Be-Bittul, Yechida, Yichud is the level where there is complete absorption/union of the separate self with the One
Kabbalistic World: The realm of Ein, Ein Soph, Ein Soph Aur beyond the 4 worlds
Jewish Practice: The culmination of the preceding practices

No comments: